Alpes Mediterranée Provence

Natural Areas

Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur is the region in France with the most natural, national and regional Parks.  Add to that other outstanding natural areas which symbolise wonderfully the diversity of the landscapes and the natural wealth of coastal areas, the hinterland and mountainous areas of our region.

National parks

France has nine national Parks; four of these are located, partially or totally, in the region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur: les Calanques, les Ecrins, Port-Cros and le Mercantour. Recognised by the French government for their exceptional character in respect of nature, landscapes and culture, they are subject to specific regulations in order to safeguard the riches they provide. Each park is broken down into two zones: the “Coeur de Parc” (central zone) which is subject to regulations aiming to protect the environment, and the “aire d’adhésion”(on the periphery), whose aim is to unite the surrounding communes in a shared sustainable development plan.

read more

List of National Parks

Regional natural Parks

The region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur has today 6 regional natural parks, which places it first in the national ranking. From the Camargue to the Queyras, passing through les Alpilles, le Luberon, le Verdon or the Préalpes d’Azur, these lands reflect the diversity of tourism in the region. Recognised for its wealth of natural, historic, cultural, agricultural or architectural heritage, a regional natural park is organised around a sustainable scheme which aims to ensure its protection and economic and social development.

read more

List of Regional Natural Parks

Nature Reserves and other natural areas

Beyond the national parks and regional natural parks, the region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur has other outstanding natural areas, where the reconciliation between preservation and exploration of the environment is a major objective. Great sites, natural, national or regional reserves, these areas remain major tourist attraction sites, which can be explored using responsible behaviour. From the mountain of Saint-Victoire, a favourite of Cézanne, passing through the geological Réserve of Haute-Provence, which has witnessed the changes in these landscapes, these areas symbolise the richness of the region’s biodiversity.

read more

List of other natural areas

Alpes Méditerranée Provence

Espaces naturels

Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur est la région de France qui compte le plus de Parcs naturels, nationaux et régionaux. A cela s’ajoutent d’autres espaces naturels d’exception qui symbolisent à merveille la diversité paysagère et les richesses naturelles qu’abritent le littoral, l’arrière-pays mais aussi l’espace montagnard de notre région.

Parcs nationaux

La France compte neuf Parcs nationaux dont quatre sont localisés, partiellement ou en totalité, en Région Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur : les Calanques, les Ecrins, Port-Cros et le Mercantour. Reconnus par l'Etat français pour leur caractère exceptionnel sur les plans naturel, paysager et culturel, ils sont soumis à une réglementation spécifique visant à sauvegarder les richesses qu'ils abritent. Chaque parc est décomposé en deux zones : le "coeur de Parc" soumis à une réglementation visant la préservation du milieu et l'"aire d'adhésion" dont l'objectif est de fédérer les communes environnantes autour d'un projet de développement durable partagé.

en savoir plus

Liste des parcs nationaux

Parcs naturels régionaux

La région Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur compte aujourd’hui 6 Parcs naturels régionaux, ce qui la place au premier rang national. De la Camargue au Queyras, en passant par les Alpilles, le Luberon, le Verdon ou les Préalpes d'Azur, ces territoires sont le reflet de la diversité touristique de la région. Reconnu pour la richesse de son patrimoine naturel, historique, culturel, agricole, ou architectural, un Parc naturel régional s’organise autour d'une logique durable visant à la fois à assurer sa protection et son développement économique et social.

en savoir plus

Liste des parcs naturels régionaux

Réserves et autres espaces naturels

Au-delà des Parcs nationaux et naturels régionaux, la région Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur compte d’autres espaces naturels d’exception, où la conciliation entre préservation et découverte du milieu est un objectif majeur. Grands Sites, Réserves naturelles nationales ou régionales, ces espaces restent des points d’attraits touristiques majeurs qu’il convient de découvrir en adoptant un comportement responsable. De la montagne Saint-Victoire chère à Cézanne, en passant par la Réserve géologique de Haute-Provence, témoin de l'évolution des paysages, ces espaces sont les symboles de la richesse de la biodiversité régionale.

en savoir plus

Listes des autres espaces naturels